Visibility and Completion Settings
You use Visibility and Completion settings to control whether students can see the item and to control
what determines whether a student has completed the item.
These are the visibility and completion settings for an item:
- Visible in table of contents - Controls whether this item is visible in the course table of contents when
viewing the course.
- Visible to students - Uncheck this to prevent students from ever accessing the content. This option is useful
for things like instructor lesson notes.
- Restrict visibility by date - Check this option to set the earliest date students may see this item.
- Restrict visibility by mastery - Check to set what item(s) must be completed or learning objective(s) mastered
before students can see this item.
- Completion - The completion drop-down list lets you choose what determines
whether a student has completed this activity.
Choices include viewing the activity for a specified time, submitting something for the activity, or achieving
a passing score on the activity. (Not all choices are available for all activity types.)
- Student must complete before continuing - When checked, a student
must complete this item before they can view any item after it in the table of contents.
NOTE: Restrict visibility by date is based on the user's local time zone. If
a teacher in the Eastern Time Zone sets the visibility for 9:00 AM EST, students in the Pacific Time Zone
will be able to view it at 6:00 AM PST, because that is the same moment it is visible for all students,
worldwide. The student's local calendar will reflect the time zone adjustment. Setting the visibility
time to 11:59 PM will make the assignment visible at the end of the day according to the local time zone.
This special time setting will allow a student in the Eastern Time Zone to view the assignment three hours
before the Pacific Time Zone student because it is not yet midnight on the West Coast.